RSS

The Phone Scam and the Proud Heart

24 Sep

Proverbs 11:2: “When pride comes, then comes shame; but with the humble is wisdom.”

Yesterday I almost got “scammed.”

I received a phone call from “Covington’s Who’s Who?”. I was told by the smooth-talking lady that I had received a prestigious award. “Congratulations!”, she said, “You have been identified as being in the top 2% of your profession, and have been selected to be part of the Who’s Who Amongst American Professionals!”

I took the bait.

She proceeded to “interview me” for inclusion in the 2014 edition, to honor me for “outstanding achievements” in my field of expertise. One by one, my educational and professional accomplishments were duly noted, and my adrenaline was pumping with excitement. “Who’s Who?”, I thought to myself, “Wow, all of the hard work is finally paying off!”

About half way through the “interview”, something began to change. I started to think with my head and not my heart. Jeremiah said that  the heart is “desperately wicked.” Solomon stated that as a man “thinks in his heart,so is he.” I began to realize that the pride in my heart was getting me into trouble. Warning signals started going off in my head.

And then, the “Derrick Keeter is Greater than Sliced Bread” award ceremony came crashing down with a loud thud. The sweet little darling on the phone dropped her bomb on me. “Would you prefer the Platinum membership or the Gold Membership?”, she asked, as she rattled off information about trips to Hawaii and “packages” that would be delivered to my home.

“Wait a cotton-picking minute!!”, my brain screamed at me. “This is a sales pitch, you dummy! Abort! Abort! Abort!”

With a new-found sense of sanity, I began to wriggle off the hook. I shook off the pesky salesgirl and ended our once glorious phone call. I began to “Google.”

Aaahh, there it was, in bold print on the BBB website. “Covington Who’s Who?” is nothing more than a scam. Over 50 consumer complaints had been lodged and gone unanswered. I had almost agreed to send that woman $799 out of my savings account, and another $199 a month for my “exclusive membership” in this “highly respected” fraternity of proud fools. My wife would have killed me. My name would have appeared in the obituary column, not the “Who”s Who of American Professionals.” Boy, did I feel stupid. And ashamed.

I am ashamed of the pride which is still lurking in my heart. I thought that it was gone, but apparently it is not. The devil knows our weaknesses. He identifies the “chinks in our armor” and thrusts his sword in at that exact spot. He almost got me.

I thank God for the mind of Christ. My heart is not dependable, but God’s Holy Spirit continues to transform my mind into the attitude of Jesus. I acknowledged my sin to the Lord and learned my lesson. Hopefully, I gained a little more wisdom yesterday.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 24, 2014 in Daily Verse & Prayer

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
