RSS

Why Does God Not Heal Everyone?

18 Aug

Isaiah 53:5: “But He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities; the chastisement for our peace was upon Him, and by His stripes we are healed.”

In his book Lord, I Need a Miracle, evangelist Benny Hinn made the following comments about divine healing: “As a minister of the Gospel who takes God at His Word, I have spoken words of faith and healing hundreds of times. I believe it is not only God’s will for you to be healed, but it is His will that you live in health until He calls you home.”(p.63)
If Jesus provided healing through His suffering on the Cross, then why do His children get sick and die from diseases? Why would He heal one of His children and not heal them all?
Some would argue that healing is a matter of one’s faith (James 5:13-15) and that those who do not get healed simply lacked the faith which was necessary. When my previous spouse died from cancer, my former mother-in-law actually said that to me. I was livid with anger and wanted to cuss her out. Not enough faith you say? Well, I beg to differ!!
Just a few months before her death, a group of believing church members gathered around her in prayer. We had plenty of faith. We anointed her with oil and cried out to Jesus. She cried out to Jesus. Our seven-year old grandson begged the Lord aloud: “Lord, please don’t let my Nana die!” Why would God not answer the sweet, innocent prayer of a small child? My wife continued to be sick and died.
In my current ministry, I have preached the funerals of two godly deacons who loved Jesus. These were good men of faith and their families believed in the Lord. We prayed over these men and anointed them with oil. They and their loved ones prayed for healing but did not receive it. These men died from cancer.
Just this week, another wonderful man died from cancer. He had plenty of faith. In fact, he had more faith than anyone I have ever met. This fine fellow was mentally challenged, but had an incredible walk with Jesus. When I would visit him in the hospital, this gentleman ministered to me more than I ministered to him! And yet, in spite of his faith and love for God, I will assist in preaching his funeral tomorrow.
With all due respect to Brother Hinn (and thousands more like him) his theology is dead wrong. God does NOT heal everyone. And faith alone does not guarantee divine healing of the body.
What can we say then about God and this matter of sickness and death? Let me make several remarks.
1. God is good. He is perfect and never makes mistakes, nor does He lie.
2. God loves His children with a perfect, unconditional love. His love for us never ends.
3. God is capable of healing everyone but, for some reason, He does not. There is nothing lacking in His ability nor His willingness.
4. God does things that we do not understand.His ways are not our ways, His thoughts are not our thoughts. It is not possible to know everything concerning the will of God in this life.
5. God always does what is right and best for us, even though we may not understand it.
6. God has decreed that we will all die one day. We are all dying from a disease (sin) and there is nothing which will stop the process. Benny Hinn will die one day, unless the rapture takes place first. He is susceptible to sickness and disease just like everyone else, although I do not wish it upon him nor anyone else.
7. God has promised us eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. Cancer is not the victor; Jesus is. The grave is not the victor; Jesus is. And God’s children are more than conquerors through Him.
8. God can be trusted.
From personal experience, I can testify that my life is richer, fuller and better than it was prior to my previous wife’s death. I have a new, amazing wife, a new earthly family, a new church ministry, and a new walk with God. While the pain of death was severe, I have been emotionally and spiritually HEALED through the grace of my loving Lord. My previous wife and friends have been ushered into the presence of a holy God!!! They will receive an eternal inheritance with brand new, disease-free, death-free bodies! Hallelujah!
You see, God works all things out for the good. (Romans 8:28) Why does God not heal everyone? Simply put, He has a better plan. It may not be OUR plan, but it is His plan. His plan is perfect.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 18, 2014 in Daily Verse & Prayer

 

Leave a Reply

 
