RSS
Image

Praising Him in the Storm

15 Apr

praise-you-in-the-storm

Matthew 5:45: “…for He makes His sun rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the just and the unjust.”

I am not very fond of rain nor cold. I prefer sunny and warm weather. My mood is good when the weather suits me, but when it is cold or rainy outside, my attitude changes. I can become moody, somber and even grumpy.

Life is not always pleasant, regardless of who you are. Whether you are a follower of Jesus or not, there will be rainy days and there will be sunny days. The same calamities in life affect all of us. Disease, sickness, pain and suffering are common to all humans. Just because I am a child of the Heavenly King does not mean that I will not go through a storm in life. In fact, I have been through quite a few; and I am not referring to the weather. Life can be very tough.

Most of us are quick to praise God when things are good. We rejoice and are happy when the sun is shining, but fall apart when the storms come. The group Casting Crowns declared it this way: ” And though my heart is torn, I will praise You in the storm.” The true test of our character is not how loud we shout when the sun is shining, but how sincerely we cry out to Him when the sky is dark. Praising Him on the mountaintop is easy, but worship in the valley is not. The songs we sing in the rain are the ones which touch the heart of our Lord. Let us learn to praise Him in the storm.

O Lord, I thank you for the sun which rises on the evil and the good, and I praise you for the rain which falls upon the just and the unjust. I will praise you no matter the weather, whether I like it or not. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 15, 2014 in Daily Verse & Prayer

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
