RSS
Image

East from the West

14 Apr

Sunrise on flip-flops and bird on the beach.  Black_Mountain_Sunset-27527

Psalm 103:12: “As far as the east is from the west, so far has He removed our transgressions from us.”

Amanda and I live on a ridge with a scenic view. From the front of our house we can look east for miles, and the sunrise brings light into our bedroom each morning. In our backyard, we can watch the evening sunset over beautiful hills and see the lights of Woodbury some fifteen miles away. The views in each direction are wonderful.

How far is the east from the west? When I look eastward, I picture what the sunrise looks like at Tybee Island, which is over 200 miles away. From Tybee, I can look out at the vast expanse of the Atlantic Ocean, which stretches across the globe for thousands of miles. Eventually, if I were able to travel that distance, I would find myself in China, still looking eastward toward the rising of the sun.

When I watch the sunset through the woods behind my house, I imagine what it might look like from the shores of Maui, facing westward across the Pacific Ocean. Years ago I stood on the beach at Kaanapali, meditating on what people on the other side of the ocean were seeing at that moment…in China!

The point is this: east meets west and west meets east on our circular planet. How can you measure the distance between the two? You cannot. Therefore, when God removes our sins from us, He throws them into His “sea of forgetfulness”, a place which cannot be located nor measured. There is absolutely no limit to His forgiveness, nor His forgetfulness. He chooses to remember our sins no more.

What an amazing, merciful, loving God we serve. David said it best when he cried out: “Bless the LORD, O my soul; and all that is within me bless His holy name!”

Father, I thank you for forgetting my sins and removing them far from me. I repent of my sinful choices today, and commit myself to loving you. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 14, 2014 in Daily Verse & Prayer

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
