RSS
Image

Are You Listening?

20 Mar

Are You Listening?

1 Thessalonians 4:16: “For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, and the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God. And the dead in Christ will rise first.”

The day was cold and dreary. Blustery winds whipped through the cemetery, as tears streamed down the faces of our family. My uncle Donnie had been killed by a mortar blast in the jungles in Vietnam. His casket was being lowered into the North Carolina dirt. From the distance, a bugle call broke through the gloom, piercing the solemn November air. The sound of taps burst forth, causing shrieks of despair from Donnie’s loved ones. As a six year old child, I experienced the harsh reality of death, in a manner which still causes me to shiver 46 years later. I can still hear the sound of that horn blaring in my head.

Now I am awaiting the sound of another horn: the trumpet of almighty God. As the world spins further away from the hands of her Creator, my heart longs for the call to come home. The older that I get, the more that I long for a better place, a better life. My ears are listening and my heart is longing. I look forward to the day when the sound of Gabriel’s trumpet rises above the noise of a world waiting to be delivered. Jesus will take His children home. I will see my uncle Donnie again and I will see my Lord, the one Who has saved me and given me eternal life.

Dear Father, I am ready for the sound of the trumpet. I am ready to be delivered. I am ready to come home. In your precious name, Amen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 20, 2014 in Daily Verse & Prayer

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
