RSS
Image

Trips to the Fair

26 Feb

Trips to the Fair

James 4:13-14: “Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, spend a year there, buy and sell, and make a profit”; whereas you do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away.”

Last night I watched my daughter ride rides at the local fair. Not a “real” fair, mind you, just a tiny, yearly one which is set up in a local parking lot. As I watched her have fun with a friend, I realized how quickly time flies; this was the fifth year in a row that we have been there. She is 13 now, which means that she was only 8 when we first started going. Wow. I am amazed at how fast five years goes by.

To make things more dramatic, my mind went back in time to when my previous six children used to attend fairs. They were just little kids, but now they have children of their own. Their mother is dead and I am happily remarried to another woman. Life just keeps on moving and it happens so rapidly.

James compared the brevity of life to that of a “vapor” or “mist” which appears briefly but then vanishes. This morning, while taking my daughter to school, a dense fog was hanging over the valley below our house. When I return home this afternoon, that fog will be gone. Life is like that fog; temporary and fleeting. Instead of presuming that life will continue tomorrow, the Bible says that we should say, “If the Lord wills, we shall live and do this or that.”

You and I only have a certain amount of time here in this life, and then we face eternity. We need to make as many trips to the fair as possible and we need to prepare ourselves to meet the Lord. If you have not done so, you need to give your heart to Jesus and glorify Him with the time that you have left.

Lord, I thank you for the time which you given me and the moments to spend my life with family and friends. I give my time and my talents to you. I want to serve you with the brief life that I live here. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 26, 2014 in Daily Verse & Prayer

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
