RSS
Image

Broken Things

21 Feb

Broken Things

Jeremiah 2:13: “For my people have committed two evils: They have forsaken Me, the fountain of living waters, and hewn themselves cisterns-broken cisterns that can hold no water.”

When I was about twelve, I had a lamp in my bedroom made of popsicle sticks. It was an ugly lamp and I have no idea where my parents got it from. One day a friend and I were wrestling and we knocked the lamp off my dresser and into the floor. It shattered into what seemed a million popsicle sticks. One by one I glued the pieces back together, but it didn’t work. From that point on, the lamp continued to collapse. One day my mother finally threw the ugly thing away and bought a real lamp. It was broken and could not be fixed.

The ancient Hebrews continually forsook God and turned to the false gods of their enemies. God compared the situation to them rejecting a perpetual stream of never-ending water in exchange for a pool of water which had seeped out of a broken well into the ground. The Israelites had chosen broken gods who could neither give nor sustain life. They had rejected the living God and put their hope in broken things instead.

Our lives are often filled with broken wells which can hold no water. We rely on jobs which disappoint us, relationships which never bring fulfillment and activities and habits which do not bring us permanent satisfaction. In short, we die of thirst. God is patiently waiting to give us things which will last forever, water to quench our perpetual thirst. He wants us to throw away our broken lamps and receive Jesus, the light of the world.

Father, help me to throw away the broken things of this world and receive the fountain of living waters which you offer. Quench my thirst God. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 21, 2014 in Daily Verse & Prayer

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
