RSS

How to Be Healed

18 Nov

Image

 John 5:1-15

I hate cancer. I hate it with a passion. I hate it as bad as I can possibly hate it.

Two of my friends are battling cancer. A number of my friends have died from this dreaded disease over the years. I had a spouse die from it. To put it bluntly, this particular illness is not my friend.

I do, however, believe in the power of prayer. I believe in the power of divine healing. God is able to heal us from all of our sicknesses. He is often referred to as the “Great Physician.” The bald-faced truth is that while God can heal all those who come to Him, sometimes He chooses not to. I don’t know why. Only God knows why.

The crippled man in John 6 wanted to be healed. He made his way to the pool of Bethesda on a regular basis. The pool was a miraculous place where people were supernaturally healed by the touch of God. An angel would stir up the water, and sick people would walk out completely well.

The sick man was met by Jesus, who asked him a simple question: “Do you want to be made well?” When the man explained that he was unable to get to the water, Jesus instructed him to “Rise, take up your bed [a mat which the sick man was carrying] and walk.” The man came to Jesus and was healed.

Do you want to be made well? All of us are sick. We all have a terminal illness. We have an incurable disease called sin. The only way to be healed of our disease is to come to Jesus. We must “take up our bed and walk.”

I love the first verse of the song “Untitled Hymn” by Chris Rice:

 

“Weak and wounded sinner, lost and left to die,

Oh raise your head for love is passing by.

Come to Jesus, come to Jesus, come to Jesus and live.”

 

How can you be healed of your sin? Come to Jesus…and live.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 18, 2013 in Sermons

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
