RSS
Image

God Made Cold Weather: Psalm 74:17

14 Nov

God Made Cold Weather:  Psalm 74:17

“You have set all the borders of the earth; you have made summer and winter.”

Allow me to complain a little bit today. This morning it was 22 degrees in Thomaston, Georgia. The calendar says November, not January. I’m not a “happy camper.” In fact, I hate cold weather!!

And yet, the Bible declares that winter comes from God. He made it. He has caused the earth to spin on its axis and to tilt back and forth towards the sun at different angles. If he created winter, then it has to be good. According to the Creation account, “God saw everything that He had made, and indeed it was VERY good.” (Genesis 1:31) The Bible states, therefore, that winter is VERY good!

As I grow older, I am learning to appreciate the beauty of changing seasons. I actually do enjoy hiking Sprewell Bluff in the winter time…when the snakes are hibernating! I enjoy watching the trees and flowers bloom in the spring. I love the colors and smells of fall. And oh my gracious, how I enjoy the beach on a hot, sunny day!!

Solomon said that “He has made everything beautiful in its time.” (Ecclesiastes 3:11) As fall turns to winter, and winter turns to spring, praise God for the time that He has given us to celebrate life.

And, keep in mind that the swimming pools open in May. That’s only seven months away.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 14, 2013 in Daily Verse & Prayer

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
