RSS
Image

Bringing Them Up Right – Ephesians 6:4

13 Nov

Bringing Them Up Right - Ephesians 6:4

I am thankful for the way in which I was raised. My parents are good people who loved me and gave me a solid foundation for life. They taught me about God. I have clear memories of my Dad explaining heaven and hell to me, and my mother reading the Bible to me. I was taught bedtime and meal prayers, and my family attended church.

I must have been about five or six when Dad and I were sitting in front of the fireplace one evening. Attempting to initiate a conversation about God, my Daddy asked me if I knew who said the following: “You must be born again.” I quickly blurted out, “Hubert Humphrey!!” No, my Dad responded with some irritation, “Jesus said that!” (For those of you who don’t know, Hubert Humphrey was the Vice President at that time!) Needless to say, I was in bad need of further Bible study.

I am not a perfect father. I have made my share of bad mistakes. I did, however, raise my children in church, and taught them Who it was who said “You must be born again.” I had the blessing and privilege to baptize six of them. I am proud to be their Dad.

What brings me joy is to watch my children teach my grandchildren about Jesus. To see them as they train and discipline their kids in the Lord is an encouragement to my soul. I am thankful that the next generation is becoming part of God’s family.

If you bring them up right, your kids will not leave God when they grow up. (Proverbs 22:6) They will lead their own children to Jesus.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 13, 2013 in Daily Verse & Prayer

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
