RSS
Image

No God?

06 Nov

No God?

Craig Groschel quoted a recent Gallup Poll in his book The Christian Atheist. According to the survey, 94 percent of Americans claim to believe in God or a universal spirit. What that means, of course, is that 6 out of 100 Americans claim to be atheists.

The word for fool in Psalm 14 is the Hebrew term nabal. In this context, “fool” refers to a person who is “evil, corrupt and perverse.” This is the way that atheists live. They are wicked and have made a decision to hate God, even though they know that He exists. (Romans 1:18-22)

As Groeschel pointed out, there are many people who claim to believe in God, but their lives show no evidence of it. They are “practical” atheists. God has no part of their daily schedule or thoughts.

Do you really believe in God? If so, then how does your life prove it?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2013 in Daily Verse & Prayer

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “No God?

  1. NotAScientist

    November 6, 2013 at 9:20 am

    “This is the way that atheists live. They are wicked and have made a decision to hate God, even though they know that He exists.”

    Have fun getting converts with that mind-set.

     
  2. ReasonableStudent

    November 6, 2013 at 4:21 pm

    Atheists do not hate god. That would be akin to me saying you hate Thor or Zeus because you don’t believe in them. I can’t hate something I don’t believe in.

     
  3. 22logical

    December 24, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    I thought that people like you died out a couple hundred years ago.

     
    • revderrickkeeter

      December 28, 2013 at 5:43 pm

      People like me still exist. We do not hate people nor do we wish for people to perish. We simply believe in a personal, loving God and a perfect book which reveals Him. I wish you well and I appreciate you reading the blog. Have a good day.

       
      • 22logical

        December 29, 2013 at 1:20 pm

        You will forgive my rather rash comment to you, it’s just that nobody likes being called a ‘fool’, ‘corrupt’ or ‘abominable’. There are people in this world who are at least as good and well-intentioned as you are and, in good conscience, many of them simply don’t believe. Your “perfect” book calls me foul names for being the good person of this earth that I am–I find that neither courteous nor humorous sir.

        I am with a woman who is attending Southern Baptist Theological Seminary and yet our devotion to one another is complete. I could no more change her beliefs than I could her ethnicity and I certainly would never try to change her, she is what she is and I like her just that way. The same goes for her with me. She does’t nag me about going to hell, so why would you do it? We get along splendidly and have for well over a year now because we both agree (as do many great theologians), that in the end, no one can say with absolute certainty what the truth is. You may refuse to mouth the words of doubt out loud or in your mind, but the fact is that the biggest fool is the one who claims to know what is best for everyone.

         
      • revderrickkeeter

        December 29, 2013 at 1:28 pm

        Thank you for your response. I wish you well.

        > Date: Sun, 29 Dec 2013 18:20:26 +0000 > To: derrickkeeter@hotmail.com >

         

Leave a Reply

 
